An example of CSC’s sporting story … Intermediate Cricket Team State Finalists!

Captains report. Leading up to Tuesday 11 November 2014 a small group of year 9 and 10 boy’s represented CSC in the Intermediate school cricket. The cricket team played Sacred Heart and won by 80 runs. The team then played Maryborough Education Centre and also bet them by 80 runs. On the 7 November the team travelled up to Bendigo at Pearce Reserve against Crusoe College in the morning in the Loddon Mallee Final. The team had a close match, we made 141 runs and they were on 130 runs with 5 wickets left and 5 overs remaining. The team took a hat trick, we took 5 wickets for 4 runs and bowled them out for 134 runs. After winning that game we advanced to the next round, the Northern District Final playing again in the afternoon, against St. Helena from Melbourne. They batted first and made 81 runs and we chased it down with 8 wickets remaining.

On Tuesday 11 November 2014 the team travelled 3 hours to Croydon Reserve to play the State Semi-finals against Ringwood. The team batted first and made 146 with Brad Zappelli making a quick 40 in the last couple of overs. The team kept them down to 99 with Kane Farrell taking 4 wickets early helping us to achieve a good start. The team moved into the State finals against Maribyrnong Sports Academy. Our team batted first and made 147 with Brad Zappelli smashing the ball everywhere and making 56 runs. Maribyrnong Sports Academy openers came out smashing the ball everywhere and hitting 6’s all over the ground. Both of their openers made more than 50 runs. We took one wicket but they were just too good a team on the day.

I’d like to thank Ms Squire, Mr Brasher, Mr Dodgshun and Mr Van Emmerik for assisting the team. I’d like to also thank the boys for playing and congratulate the boys making the Grand Final.

Players involved:

Liam Stubbings, Bailey Henderson, Manning Walsh, Darby Semmens, Brad Zappelli, Ben Burton, Oscar Lynzaat, Kane Farrell, Geordie Branson, Kaleb Mc Bride, Kyle Judd, Jedd Pedretti, Darcy Carroll, Will Penrose, Nic Woodman, Connor Leevors, Sammy Banko, Kyle Hamilton, Darcy Ahearn

Written by Liam Stubbings   (Captain)

cricketphoto1                 cricketphoto2          cricketphoto3